AIRAH scholarships, awards, and prizes for the HVAC&R building services industry

There are a number of scholarships, awards, and prizes that are available for Australian HVAC&R building services industry professionals and practitioners. This includes a variety that are hosted and/or sponsored by AIRAH.

Find information on these opportunities below. 

If you would like to suggest the inclusion of another scholarship, award, or prize for this page, please email [email protected] with details.

AIRAH Awards icon
AIRAH Awards

The annual AIRAH Awards gala recognises excellence and achievement in the Australian HVAC&R building services industry. It is an opportunity to celebrate the industry's high achievers, stand-out projects, and groundbreaking research. Nominations open in February each year and are submitted by industry. They are then judged by a pool of unaffiliated industry specialists, with the winners announced at a gala dinner.

Categories include, but are not limited to:
Future Leader This Award is open to all AIRAH members who are actively engaged in the HVAC&R building services industry. It recognises emerging leaders in any facet of the industry and may include engineers, designers and drafters, project managers and supervisors, tradespeople, commissioning and maintenance technicians, technical salespeople, and other industry participants. Nominees must be put forward by a third party and be 35 years or under.
Student of the Year – Higher Education or Research This category is open to all AIRAH members and recognises a student demonstrating outstanding commitment to their studies and/or research at any level in the HVAC&R industry. Nominations can only be made by a third party.
Student of the Year – Trade  This category is open to all AIRAH members and recognises an outstanding student at any level in the HVAC&R industry's trade sector. Nominations can only be made by a third party.
James Harrison Medal  The James Harrison Medal is the highest honour AIRAH can bestow upon an individual. Named after Australian refrigeration pioneer James Harrison, it recognises the highest levels of individual achievement in the Australian HVAC&R industry. This award is selected by the AIRAH Board.
For more information on the AIRAH Awards, please visit


AIRAH South Australia Apprentice of the Year Awards
The annual AIRAH South Australia Apprentice of the Year Awards celebrates the achievements of apprentices in the South Australian HVAC&R industry. It recognises the Apprentice of the Year; Runner-Up Apprentice of the Year; Airefrig Scholarship Award; and Encouragement Awards. For more information on this event, please email AIRAH's Membership Services Officer for South Australia.


The Alan Robert Memorial Fund
The Alan Robert Memorial Fund is a trust fund dedicated to the memory of Alan Robert. It grants financial and other awards to further the education of apprentices and others in the WA refrigeration and air conditioning industry. More information is available via the ARMF website.


ARBS Education and Research Foundation
AIRAH is a proud founding partner of the ARBS Education and Research Foundation. Created in 2014, the Foundation is committed to helping build a vibrant, productive, and rewarding air conditioning and refrigerant industry. This includes scholarships and grant for industry-critical research. For more information and to apply, please click here.


ARBS Industry Awards
ARBS Exhibitions hosts the ARBS Industry Awards, recognising achievements in the air condition, refrigeration, and building services industry. It includes categories such as Outstanding Industry Education/Training and Young Achiever, with nominations submitted by those working in the HVAC&R industry. It also celebrates longstanding industry contributors with the ARBS Hall of Fame. The collaborative national initiative is endorsed by AIRAH, AMCA, AREMA, ARWA, CIBSE (NZ), and RACCA. Find out more here.


RMIT University
AIRAH administers RMIT University's RG Kayler-Thomson Memorial Scholarship. This award was established by the late Marion Kayler-Thomson in honour of her husband son who worked in refrigeration engineering. It is open to mechanical engineering students who have completed MIET2421 and MIET2422 and is worth $5,000. For more information on eligibility and how to apply, please click here.


WA Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Awards
AMCA, AIRAH, the Alan Robert Memorial Fund, and South Metropolitan TAFE are proud to present the WA Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Awards. The 2022 iteration will be held on Wednesday, October 19 at Ascot Racecourse. Click here for more information and to register.

Discover AIRAH's leadership initiatives to advance the industry and ways to start/develop your career in HVAC&R building services.

This page was last updated October 4, 2022