About

Following the success of the inaugural 2019 Big Data and Analytics Forum, AIRAH is delighted to announce the 2020 iteration. Taking place as a virtual event on August 6, the 2020 Big Data and Analytics Forum will form part of AIRAH’s Centenary celebrations.

Registrations are open here, and early-bird pricing is available until June 26.

An attendance of 120 delegates in Sydney in 2019 shows the ever-growing interest in how we can use big data and analytics to proactively control and optimise building HVAC&R systems.

Within the built environment, big data is the collection of information from all building systems and the external data used within them. The most common source of big data is building management systems (BMS).

Although this information has been around for many years, historically it has been used to validate temperature complaints or system operation over the course of a week. However, the introduction of analytics is radically changing the situation. It is now possible, for instance, to track and trend historical patterns to help diagnose faults or equipment deterioration. Using this previously unexploited big data is significantly altering the way buildings are managed and maintained.

AIRAH’s Big Data and Analytics Virtual Forum 2020 will be held on August 6. It is a chance to focus on these topics and network with industry leaders as we break down what big data is and how we, as an industry, can improve the built environment’s operational efficiencies.

Key dates – Big Data and Analytics Forum 2020

February 28 March 27 June 26 July 10 August 6
Presentation submissions close Notification of presentation acceptances Early-bird registration ends PowerPoint presentations due Big Data and Analytics Forum 2020


Date: Thursday, August 6, 2020

Time: 1–5pm AEST | 12.30–4.30pm ACST |11am–3pm AWST


For more information on AIRAH’s Big Data and Analytics special technical group, please click here.