Nominations open for 2017 AIRAH Awards

Acknowledging the HVAC&R industry’s outstanding achievements, AIRAH is seeking nominations for its coveted annual accolades. 

The HVAC&R industry’s night of nights – the 2017 AIRAH Awards – will take place November 2 at Sydney’s Doltone House. The AIRAH Awards presentation dinner honours the industry’s high achievers, stand-out projects, and ground-breaking research. 

“The ever-evolving nature of the HVAC&R industry is testament to the passionate, hard-working individuals who continue to innovate and push boundaries,” says AIRAH CEO Tony Gleeson, M.AIRAH. “Now established as a marquee event on the industry calendar, the AIRAH Awards are an opportunity to give kudos to those who have shaped the industry for the better – the HVAC&R trend-setters and go-getters.” 

Open to individuals, companies, corporate bodies, institutions and government authorities, the 2017 AIRAH Awards recognise work carried out during 2016. 

“In 2017, we will also announce the inaugural Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion winner,” says Gleeson. “This new award recognises and celebrates organisations that have shown leadership in diversity through their efforts, initiatives, policies, programs and practices. We need to encourage inclusive levels of representation within HVAC&R’s ranks – we hope the addition of this new award will help the industry in working towards that goal.” 

The 2017 AIRAH Awards encompass the following categories:

  • James Harrison Medal: the highest honour AIRAH can bestow upon an individual (nominations not required); 
  • Future Leader award: recognising emerging leaders in any facet of the HVAC&R industry;
  • Student of the Year award: recognising outstanding student achievements at any level in the HVAC&R industry. This accolade is awarded to two recipients, a trade sector winner and a higher education and research winner; 
  • Product of the Year: manufacturers of the best Australian HVAC&R products compete against each other for a coveted AIRAH gong;
  • Best HVAC Retrofit or Upgrade award: recognising excellence in the retrofit or upgrade of an HVAC system, and can address the complete delivery of projects; 
  • Denis Joseph Award for Innovative Use of Solar Energy in HVAC&R: recognising Australian initiatives that through the innovative use of solar energy significantly improve the performance of HVAC&R systems; 
  • Excellence in Sustainability award: recognising Australian initiatives that have made clear improvements in the sustainability of HVAC&R systems or the HVAC&R industry; 
  • Excellence in Innovation award: recognising substantial Australian improvements in the areas of HVAC&R achieved through innovation. This can include new or significantly enhanced products; or new or significantly improved systems, plant and equipment, or processes; 
  • Excellence in HVAC&R Research: recognising outstanding achievements in Australian research; 
  • Excellence in Refrigeration: this award recognises excellence in the retrofit or upgrade to existing refrigeration systems or the development of new systems, or in the industry’s delivery of services.
  • Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion: This new award recognises and celebrates organisations that have shown leadership in diversity, and embraced and fostered inclusive levels of representation within their ranks; and
  • The W.R. Ahern Award: awarded annually and recognises the best technical paper by an AIRAH member published in Ecolibrium in the preceding year. Nominations are not required in this category.

2017 AIRAH Awards key dates
Nominations open* – Monday, May 29 
Nominations close – Friday, July 14 
2017 AIRAH Awards Presentation Dinner  Thursday, November 2
* Please contact Bettina May via to advise that you will be nominating.

2017 AIRAH Awards presentation dinner
What:  AIRAH Awards Presentation Dinner 2017
When: Thursday, November 2, 7pm
Where: Doltone House, Sydney
Cost: Ticket: $190; table of 10: $1,800
For nomination forms, go to
To book a table email

Awards sponsors
Event sponsor
Student of the Year – Trade
LG Electronics
Student of the Year – Higher Education and Research
Best HVAC Retrofit or Upgrade
Future Leader Award
A.G. Coombs
Excellence in Innovation
Standards Australia
Excellence in Refrigeration
Sponsorship opportunities are still available. Email for more information.