Ian Harwood, M.AIRAH – President

A 20-year veteran of the building services industry, Ian is an associate director with Norman Disney & Young, based in NDY’s Perth office. With an avid interest in the technical side of the industry, Ian has also been active in the design and management of projects. He boasts considerable experience working on a broad expanse of building types, with particular expertise in high-rise residential, hotel and commercial buildings. Ian has a special interest in designing for humid climates, and is passionate about training and development for younger engineers.

Bryon Price, F.AIRAH – Director

Bryon Price is a mechanical engineer with notable experience in energy efficient buildings. He is strategic development director for the A.G. Coombs Group and has been responsible for a wide range of energy and environmental projects. These have included innovative and award winning long term energy management roles with a number of major financial, commercial and retail organisations, and various Commonwealth and State Government Departments. Out of this experience his particular area of knowledge and interest is “whole of life” energy and environmental management in buildings. Bryon also has a strong track record of constructive and successful industry and policy advocacy.

Dr Nathan Groenhout, F.AIRAH – Director

Nathan is a consultant, researcher and academic. A mechanical engineer by training, he has spent the past 15 years working in the area of environmentally sustainable design promoting energy-efficient green buildings, as well as supporting technical education and professionalisation within the industry. Nathan has focused on the areas of occupant thermal comfort, passive design strategies for effective ventilation, and holistic sustainability. Most recently this work has focused on renovation of existing buildings, sub-tropical climates and issues affecting the industry as we transition to a low-carbon economy.

Chris Flanagan, M.AIRAH – Director

Chris is regional manager SA at Schneider Electric. Chris has worked as both a mechanical consultant and contractor in the Australian and UK building services industries for more than 20 years. He is passionate about the need for positive change in energy efficiency. Chris is proud to have been involved in numerous projects that have won industry accolades for alternative approaches to traditional air conditioning, resulting in significant operational and environmental benefits.

Paul Bannister, F.AIRAH – Director

Paul is a Director of Energy In Action which drives innovation in energy efficiency through their services they provide to clients throughout Australia and overseas. Paul is thought leader and public speaker on energy and energy efficiency issues, as well as a project leader for major energy efficiency projects. He is committed to the advancement of energy efficiency and renewable energy as means of advancing the world's economy. Paul takes a multifaceted approach to this by doing energy efficiency and renewable energy work that achieves outcomes; thus promoting and educating the industry about ways in which they can improve their practices and achieve better outcomes; and by research into new ways to advance knowledge in the field. 

AIRAH Chief Executive Officer



Tony Gleeson, M.AIRAH – Chief Executive Officer

Tony has over 25 years of international experience in the field of leadership, project and change management, and organisational integration.
He is an innovative and energetic leader, skilled communicator and team builder, and an adept negotiator. He is recognised as a strategic business partner to executives throughout an organisation, developing and implementing projects and programs that facilitate attainment of corporate growth, revenue, and profit goals (both in a corporate and not-for-profit membership environments).
He has developed and implemented strategies and policies for organisations such as PWC, Deloitte, CPA Australia and the Australian Institute of Management.


AIRAH past presidents


2016 - 2017
Ania Hampton
2013 - 2016
Dr Nathan Groenhout
2010 - 2013
Sean Treweek
2009 - 2010
John Bosci
2006 - 2009
Grant Hall
2004 - 2005
Dave Tanner 
2003 - 2004
Peter Taylor 
2002 - 2003
Phillip Carruthers 
2001 - 2002
Ray Clarke 
2000 - 2001
Peter Williams 
1998 -1999
Cees Lommers 
1997 - 1998
Syd Foster 
1996 - 1997
Ian Loney 
1994 -1995
Ray Cooper 
1993 -1994
Robert Ralph 
1992 -1993
Bob Worthington
1991 -1992
Alan Obrart 
1990 -1991
John Collins 
1989 -1990
Doug Elms 
1988 -1989
Paul Tippett 
1987 -1988
Ross Devereux 
1986 -1987
Allan W. Leth 
1985 -1986
Colin  Elliott 
1984 -1985
Robin A. Lyons
1983 -1984
Alan M. Brown 
1982 -1983
Ronald B. Cook 
1981 -1982
Robin Barr 
1980 -1981
Peter Wallbank
1979 -1980
H.H. Singleman 
1978 -1979
M.R. Brown 
1977 -1978
R.W. Skinner 
1976 -1977
Anthony D. Colliver 
1975 -1976
Ian S. Dewhurst
1974 -1975
JJW (Bill) Siganto
1973 -1974
F. G. Hogg 
1972 -1973
Donald M. Caldecott 
1971 -1972
Brian J. Croker 
1970 -1971
David Budds
1969 -1970
W.R. Ahern 
1968 -1969
Robert T. McKenzie 
1967 -1968
William H. Skinner 
1966 -1967
S.E. Rollinson
1965 -1966
W. E. Dobney 
1964 -1965
M. Farmer
1963 -1964
Samuel Hort
1962 -1963
George B. Elliott 
1961 -1962
H.A. Cartwright 
1960 -1961
W. H. Steadman 
1959 -1960
J.F.S. Winton 
1958 -1959
Harry G. Goldstein
1957 -1958
H.J. Stoneman
1956 -1957
B.M. Quin
1955 -1956
Alan Pritchard




Back to top